American Association of Plastic Surgeons (AAPS)
Summer 2019 Newsletter

Don Mackay, MD, President
Don Mackay, MD

Dear Colleagues,

It is an incredible honor to have been elected President of your Association. Nick Vedder and his Scientific Program Committee led by Richard Hopper and Peter Neligan gave us another outstanding meeting in Baltimore. It is always inspiring to witness the best scientific and clinical work our specialty has to offer together with the enthusiasm and passion, especially of our younger members. Once again a great social program allowed us time to renew old friendships and make new ones. This combination once again affirms for many of us why it is such an honor to belong to the Association. A highlight for me is always the presentation of our Academic Scholar. More


99th Annual Meeting


The American Association of Plastic Surgeons (AAPS) is pleased to continue its educational webinars. Participants on these webinars can hear from experts on various topics and will be able to engage with the presenters during the sessions.

Webinars are available on the AAPS Website.

"Fat Grafting"
Wednesday, August 7, 2019
8:00PM 9:00PM
(Eastern Standard Time)


1-10-100 Campaign Pledge Make a pledge to the 1-10-100 Campaign
$1K donated per year for 10 years with 100% Participation could mean $5 million to fully fund the Academic Scholar Awards!

Pledge Now!

2019 Meeting Highlights

98th Annual Meeting


View photos from the AAPS 98th Annual Meeting.


Annual Business Meeting
Sunday, April 9, 2019
Renaissance Baltimore Harborplace Hotel
Baltimore, Maryland
View meeting minutes

Academic Scholar Award

AAPS is pleased announce the Academic Scholarship for 2019-2020.

Sumanas Jordan, M.D. - AAPS/Peer Academic Scholar
Northwestern University
"3D-Printed Graphene-Based Scaffolds for Muscle-Derived Satellite Cell Differentiation in Denervation Injury"

Research Achievement Awards

Research Achievement Awards were presented for basic science and clinical research. These awardees are currently being utilized as AAPS Visiting Professors and will be visiting institutions throughout 2019-2020.

Steven R. Buchman, M.D. Basic Science Research Achievement Award

Gregory A. Dumanian, M.D. Clinical Research Achievement Award


AAPS encourages all members to consider service on an AAPS committee. Please take a look at the committee list and contact the Administrative office if you are interested in serving on a committee next year. View 2019-2020 Committees