American Association of Plastic Surgeons
Members Only Members Only Join AAPS Join AAPS
Joseph E. Murray Lecturers

Murray Lectureship
In recognition of his pioneering efforts in the development of organ transplant surgery, Joseph E. Murray, M.D., received the 1990 Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine at the Karolinska Institutet in Stockholm. To honor this singular achievement by a plastic surgeon, the American Association of Plastic Surgeons established an endowed lectureship in Dr. Murray’s name. Dr. Murray delivered the first Murray Lecture on May 6, 1996, at the 75th Anniversary Meeting of the Association in Hilton Head, South Carolina .Contributions were received from the Fellows of the Association to establish The Murray Endowment. The Murray Lecturer shall receive up to an $8,000 honorarium. Any investment income in excess of that needed to support the lecture will be directed back into the Board designated Murray Fund.The Murray Lecture shall be delivered biennially. The President of the Association shall select the Murray Lecturer for the Annual Meeting at which he presides.

2022 Alan Barrett, Ph.D.
2018 Laurence Boon, M.D.
2015 Charles M. Balch, M.D.
2013 Piero Antuono, M.D.
2012 Robert Bartlett, M.D.
2010 Michael T. Longaker, M.D.
2008 Jeff Lichtman
2006 Charles W. Flexner, M.D.
2004 Marilyn Moats Kennedy
2002 Roger von Oech
2000 Robert Epstein, Ph.D.
1998 Kirby I. Bland, M.D.
1996 Joseph E. Murray, M.D.

American Association of Plastic Surgeons

The American Association of Plastic Surgeons, founded in 1921, is the oldest organized Plastic Surgery organization in the world. Its Annual Meeting is the academic highlight of... [ more ]

Facebook Instagram Twitter YouTube LinkedIn

Email AAPS Email AAPS
500 Cummings Center, Suite 4400, Beverly, MA 01915 500 Cummings Center
Suite 4400
Beverly, MA 01915
+1 978-927-8330 +1 978-927-8330
+1 978-524-0498 +1 978-524-0498
About Us
Annual Meeting
Make a Pledge
Event Calendar