American Association of Plastic Surgeons
Members Only Members Only Join AAPS Join AAPS

Awards & Lectureships

Preserving the rich history of plastic surgery in the words of the surgeons whose insight and creativity helped transform the specialty.

Academic Scholarship

The American Association of Plastic Surgeons Academic Scholar Program is offering two-year faculty research scholarships to surgeons entering academic careers in Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery. The scholarship is to assist a surgeon in the establishment of a new and independent research program. Applicants should have demonstrated their potential to work as independent investigators. The fellowship award is $30,000 per year to provide salary and/or direct costs of the research.

Learn More  |  Previous Recipients

John D. Constable International Traveling Fellowship

The American Association of Plastic Surgeons is pleased to have been able to establish the John D. Constable International Traveling Fellowship in Plastic Surgery. Dr. Constable has made significant contributions to plastic surgery education worldwide throughout his career, and the Association is proud to have established an endowment supporting an international plastic surgery fellowship in his honor.

Learn More  |  Previous Recipients


The Body Contouring Research Foundation (BCRF) has provided a grant to the American Association of Plastic Surgeons (AAPS) to provide AAPS with the opportunity to give two awards during the AAPS Annual Meeting that will encourage young plastic surgeons (under 45) to present clinical results (to be designated “Young Clinician’s Award”) and to encourage and support more basic research in body contouring and stem cell research in a broad sense (to be designated "Young Researcher’s Award").

Previous Recipients

AAPS Resident Travel Award

The American Association of Plastic Surgeons will recognize a plastic surgery resident with a $1500 scholarship to cover travel, housing, and registration to attend the AAPS Annual Meeting, April 29 – May 2, 2023, Palmer House Hotel Chicago, Illinois.

Learn More  |  Previous Recipients

Cannon Student Scholarship

The American Association of Plastic Surgeons, founded in 1921, is the oldest organized Plastic Surgery organization in the world. Its Annual Meeting is the academic highlight of our specialty and we welcome students to participate each year through the Cannon Scholarship.

Learn More  |  Cannon Testimonials

Distinguished Fellows

The Distinguished Fellowship may be given to one or more plastic surgeons annually. It recognizes a prestigious career in plastic surgery which is notable for significant service to the American Association of Plastic Surgeons or to other national or international organizations, and it recognizes leadership in the education of others in the field of plastic surgery.

Previous Recipients

Clinician of the Year

The Clinician of the Year is chosen annually by the President from members of the Association to recognize significant clinical achievement in the field of plastic and reconstructive surgery. The recipient’s long experience and results of treatment in a major area of clinical interest are presented at the opening ceremonies of the Annual Meeting.

Previous Recipients

James Barrett Brown Award

The James Barrett Brown Award, established in memory of James Barrett Brown, M.D., a past president of the Association, is presented annually for the best plastic surgery related paper published during the previous calendar year.

Previous Recipients

Honorary Award

The Honorary Award is the highest honor that the Association bestows. It is awarded annually to recognize outstanding contributions in either the humanities or sciences related to medicine and surgery and appropriate for recognition by the specialty of plastic surgery.

Previous Recipients

Kiskadden Lecturers

Established in 1970 by Mrs. Margaret Adams Kiskadden in memory of her husband, William S. Kiskadden, a Past President of the Association, was originally intended to be delivered by a foreign guest of the Association.

Previous Lectures

Joseph E. Murray Lecturers

In recognition of his pioneering efforts in the development of organ transplant surgery, Joseph E. Murray, M.D., received the 1990 Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine at the Karolinska Institutet in Stockholm. To honor this singular achievement by a plastic surgeon, the American Association of Plastic Surgeons established an endowed lectureship in Dr. Murray’s name. Dr. Murray delivered the first Murray Lecture on May 6, 1996, at the 75th Anniversary Meeting of the Association in Hilton Head, South Carolina .

Previous Lectures

R. Barrett Noone Lecturers

R. Barrett Noone, M.D. was selected in 1997 to be the first Executive Director of the American Board of Plastic Surgery. He held this role for 18 years, supporting the specialty and representing plastic surgery with distinction and respect, while continuing in practice and on the faculty of the University of Pennsylvania.

Previous Recipients

Leonard R. Rubin Award

The Leonard R. Rubin Award, named in honor or Dr. Leonard R. Rubin, is presented each year to the author of the paper selected by the Awards Committee as the best scientific paper presented at the Annual Meeting. The recipient of the award will present the paper the following year at the Annual Meeting of the European Association of Plastic Surgeons (EURAPS).

Previous Recipients

Ti-Sheng Chang Award

The TSC Foundation and AAPS Ti-Sheng Chang Plastic & Reconstructive Surgery Award will be presented to an AAPS member who is a senior author for a top paper presented at the AAPS Annual Meeting.

Previous Recipients

AAPS Research Achievement Award

The AAPS Research Achievement Award honors one clinical and one basic science investigator each year. The two recipients of the Research Achievement Award are utilized as AAPS Visiting Professors during the following year.

Previous Recipients

AAPS Visiting Professors

Learn More  |  Previous Recipients

American Association of Plastic Surgeons

The American Association of Plastic Surgeons, founded in 1921, is the oldest organized Plastic Surgery organization in the world. Its Annual Meeting is the academic highlight of... [ more ]

Facebook Instagram Twitter YouTube LinkedIn

Email AAPS Email AAPS
500 Cummings Center, Suite 4400, Beverly, MA 01915 500 Cummings Center
Suite 4400
Beverly, MA 01915
+1 978-927-8330 +1 978-927-8330
+1 978-524-0498 +1 978-524-0498
About Us
Annual Meeting
Make a Pledge
Event Calendar