AAPS, American Association of Plastic Surgeons
AAPS, American Association of Plastic Surgeons
Twitter YouTube LinkedIn
Awards and Lectureships

Academic Scholarship Deadline: November 1, 2018
The American Association of Plastic Surgeons Academic Scholar Program is offering two-year faculty research scholarships to surgeons entering academic careers in Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery. The scholarship is to assist a surgeon in the establishment of a new and independent research program. Applicants should have demonstrated their potential to work as independent investigators. The fellowship award is $30,000 per year to provide salary and/or direct costs of the research. Funding of the award will begin July 1, 2019. The award may be renewed once.

Apply Now  |  Previous Recipients
Cannon Student Scholarship
The American Association of Plastic Surgeons, founded in 1921, is the oldest organized Plastic Surgery organization in the world. It's Annual Meeting is the academic highlight of our specialty.

The more senior members (e.g. retired) of AAPS (Cannon Society) meet annually in conjunction with the meeting, which will be held April 6-9, 2019 at the Renaissance Baltimore Harborplace Hotel in Baltimore, MD.

To nurture your interest in plastic surgery, some of the Cannon members, in combination with the AAPS, will sponsor at least five medical students to attend next year’s meeting. Sponsorship includes free registration, meals normally supplied during the meeting to attendees (including the President's Dinner) and two nights in the host hotel. You will be responsible for your transportation to and from the meeting.

Apply Now | Deadline: December 1, 2018 11:59PM EST

AAPS Resident Travel Award
The American Association of Plastic Surgeons will recognize a plastic surgery resident or fellow with a $1500 scholarship to cover travel, housing, and registration to attend the AAPS Annual Meeting, April 6-9, 2019, Renaissance Baltimore Harborplace Hotel, Baltimore, Maryland.

Apply Now | Deadline: December 31, 2018 11:59PM EST

AAPS Research Achievement Award
The AAPS Research Achievement Award honors one clinical and one basic science investigator each year. The two recipients of the Research Achievement Award are utilized as AAPS Visiting Professors during the following year.

Previous Recipients
Clinician of the Year
The Clinician of the Year is chosen annually by the President from members of the Association to recognize significant clinical achievement in the field of plastic and reconstructive surgery. The recipient’s long experience and results of treatment in a major area of clinical interest are presented at the opening ceremonies of the Annual Meeting.

Previous Recipients
Distinguished Fellows
The Distinguished Fellowship may be given to one or more plastic surgeons annually. It recognizes a prestigious career in plastic surgery which is notable for significant service to the American Association of Plastic Surgeons or to other national or international organizations, and it recognizes leadership in the education of others in the field of plastic surgery.

Previous Recipients
Honorary Award
The Honorary Award is the highest honor that the Association bestows. It is awarded annually to recognize outstanding contributions in either the humanities or sciences related to medicine and surgery and appropriate for recognition by the specialty of plastic surgery.

Previous Recipients
The James Barrett Brown Award
The James Barrett Brown Award, established in memory of James Barrett Brown, M.D., a past president of the Association, is presented annually for the best plastic surgery related paper published during the previous calendar year. The selection is made by the members of the Association from articles published in the Journal of Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery or in the Annals of Plastic Surgery. At the opening ceremonies of the Annual Meeting, the recipient will summarize the clinical or basic science research of the award-winning paper.

Previous Recipients
John D. Constable International Traveling Fellowship
The American Association of Plastic Surgeons is pleased to have been able to establish the John D. Constable International Traveling Fellowship in Plastic Surgery. Dr. Constable has made significant contributions to plastic surgery education worldwide throughout his career, and the Association is proud to have established an endowment supporting an international plastic surgery fellowship in his honor.

The fellowship is intended to provide an opportunity for international plastic surgeons to come to the United States under the auspices of the American Association of Plastic Surgeons. The goal of the fellowship is to improve the fellow’s understanding of American plastic surgery, and to promote good will and academic interchange among surgeons of the international and American surgical communities. The chosen fellow will be in the United States as an observer for a period of 6-12 weeks under the sponsorship of members of the American Association of Plastic Surgeons.

Previous Recipients
Joseph E. Murray Lecturers
This endowed lectureship, established by the Fellows of the Association in honor of Joseph E. Murray, M.D., recipient of the 1990 Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine, is presented biennially by an invited guest of the President of the Association.

Previous Lectures
Kiskadden Lecturers
This biennial lecture, established in memory of William S. Kiskadden, M.D., a past president of the Association, is presented by an invited guest of the President of the Association on a subject related to the arts, sciences or education.

Previous Lectures
Leonard R. Rubin Award
The Leonard R. Rubin Award, named in honor or Dr. Leonard R. Rubin, is presented each year to the author of the paper selected by the Awards Committee as the best scientific paper presented at the Annual Meeting. The recipient of the award will present the paper the following year at the Annual Meeting of the European Association of Plastic Surgeons (EURAPS).

Previous Recipients
Quick Links
Annual Meeting
Twitter YouTube LinkedIn